Meet the Leadership

Fort Walton Beach City Council.

The City Council is the legislative body of the City composed of a Mayor and seven, at-large Council members who are elected to four-year, staggered terms.

The City Council appoints the City Manager, City Clerk, and City Attorney. The City Council initiates all ordinances and resolutions setting City policy. Additionally, the City Council adopts an annual budget and appoints all members of Boards and Committees.

Front Row Left to Right: Council Member Payne Walker, Mayor Dick Rynearson, Council Members John Mead and Gloria DeBerry.

Back Row Left to Right: Council Members Travis Smith, Nic Allegretto, Bryce Jeter, David Schmidt

Vision, Mission & Values


The City of Fort Walton Beach is a recognized leader in the provision of community services.


To enhance and protect the community by providing quality services.

Core Values


We will conduct ourselves in an honest, trustworthy, and ethical manner.


We will take full responsibility for our actions, resources, and attitudes.


We will work together to provide quality services.

Customer Service

We will be professional, use all available resources, and strive to meet the needs of our customers.

Continual Improvement

We will promote a culture that seeks to better our organization.